1. The Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA) in the Eastern Cape Province has established a Programme Management Unit (PMU) to support municipalities improve their service delivery capacity in terms of section 154 of the constitution. 
  • COGTA entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA) and National Business Initiative (NBI) to strengthen the PMU in its endeavour to support municipalities enhance their service delivery capacity.  
  • The support areas identified in terms of the signed MoU are namely, the development of infrastructure master plans (water/sanitation; road/storm water; electricity; integrated transport plans etc.), Township establishment, Asset Care, Revenue Enhancement and Management, Small Town Development Master Plans, Spatial Development Frameworks, Local Spatial Development Frameworks, Urban Design, Precinct plans, Project planning, preparation, and implementation support. 
  • The PMU invited eleven (11) municipalities from recently amalgamated, distressed and municipalities that were instituted with section 139 of the constitution to be part of municipalities where the support was to be first piloted.
  • Fourteen (14) projects from six (6) municipalities have to date been approved by the PMU and implementation is expected to commence in April 2021.
  • The PMU in January 2021 embarked on District Consultative Sessions to engage all municipalities in the province regarding the PMU support as well as the envisaged second call.
  • Circular No. 02 of 2021 therefore seeks to invite interested municipalities to submit support proposals that are aligned to the provincial, district and local government policies, strategies and plans. 
  • Municipalities are requested to consult the department of COGTA website, www.eccogta.gov.za for full instruction notes as well as the guidelines and templates.
  1. Enquiries regarding this second call for proposals should be directed to luthando.plaatjie@eccogta.gov.za contactable during office hours on 071 689 6165 and mlu.molose@eccogta.gov.za contactable during office hours on 082 559 6351.

The closing date for the submission of the support proposals is the 31st March 2021.